Lifestyle · Uncategorized

Body Positivity And Nicer Internet

I know I’ve been posting a lot recently but that is because something happened yesterday that I wanted to address.

Somebody (I’m not naming names because I don’t want to give them the satisfaction) followed my blog and liked a few of my posts. This was lovely, I always feel so good about myself when this happens, it makes me really proud. But then I got a notification that they’d commented on this post that is actually one of my favourite posts.

The comment said “chubby body. but pretty smile.” I mean, it makes it even worse that they didn’t bother with capital letters!

I’ve always known that I’m a bit chunky and that is how it has been my entire life but it isn’t something I’d expect a complete stranger to point out and blatantly tell me.

I has a pretty thick skin, things like this never get to me and this is no exception (I think having an older brother who constantly picks on me helps with this) but imagine if I had previously struggled with an eating disorder, imagine if I had already lost a stone before taking those photos and was really proud of myself,  imagine if  that one small comment was about to ruin my life.

The person who left the comment was incredibly lucky that they said it to me and not somebody else that would develop serious issues because of 2 small words.

Would you go up to a stranger in the street and tell them that they are chubby? So why would you say it online?

Also, I’d just like to say that you are beautiful, maybe not the person that told me I was chubby, but everybody else is gorgeous in their own way- chubby or not.

I once read something on twitter that said flowers and fairy lights are beautiful and they look nothing alike so you are beautiful and so is that person over there even though you look completely different.

What I’m trying to say in this long-winded post is that no matter what you look like, you are beautiful and mind what you say on the internet because it could really hurt people.

Real Girls Eat Cake!

With all my love, from Lucy

4 thoughts on “Body Positivity And Nicer Internet

Leave a Reply

